Autism Resources

*note: We have done our best to insure that the information provided below is Autism-centric which to us means that it is not stigmatizing and does not see Autism as a bad thing that needs to be fixed. We believe that individuals on the autism spectrum are amazing, brilliant, beautiful unicorns and many of us are on the autism spectrum. If you find anything that we have linked/reference that does not hold these truths, please let us know so we can take it down. Also if you have a link to add to this list please do share it with us!


Orgs:

Books:

Blogs/Articles:

 

Some links pulled from here:

Living Autistically

Ragen’s Autism Masterpost: http://vulcanfeminist.tumblr.com/post/147080215255/useful-autism-links-masterlist

Autistic-Created Alternative Autism Criteria: http://politeyeti.tumblr.com/post/16448184988/autistic-created-alternative-autism-criteria

Atypical Autism Checklist: http://p-3a-s-life-resources.tumblr.com/post/115347374289/atypical-autism-traits

8 Things Autistic People Want You to Know: http://neurowonderful.tumblr.com/post/151714742476/8-things-autistic-people-want-you-to-know

The Extroverted Autistic: https://thegirlwiththecurlyhair.co.uk/2014/08/05/extrovert-aspie/

Females with Autism Checklist: https://everydayaspergers.com/2012/03/31/day-62-females-with-aspergers-syndrome-nonofficial-checklist/

Nonbinary, Neuroatypical Masterpost: https://storify.com/theoriesofminds/nonbinary-neuroatypical-experience-link-roundup

ABA Master Resource List (why ABA is harmful/not supported by Autistics): http://neurowonderful.tumblr.com/post/135286731936/2015-autism-aba-resource-masterpost

Redesigning the Autism Spectrum: https://themighty.com/2016/05/rebecca-burgess-comic-redesigns-the-autism-spectrum/

Autism + Empathy: http://www.the-open-mind.com/theory-finds-that-individuals-with-aspergers-syndrome-dont-lack-empathy-in-fact-if-anything-they-empathize-too-much/

Polyamory + Autism: https://aspergersandmeblog.wordpress.com/2015/07/27/polyamory-and-autism/

Scripting: https://aspergersandmeblog.wordpress.com/2014/11/03/why-are-scripts-so-bad/

Scripted Language & Authenticity: http://www.thinkingautismguide.com/2012/03/scripted-language-and-authenticity.html

Ask an Autistic: What is Scripting?: http://neurowonderful.tumblr.com/post/80982282628/what-is-scripting-what-is-the-difference-between

Invisible Girls on the Spectrum: https://everydayautismblog.wordpress.com/2016/06/05/the-invisible-girls-on-the-autism-spectrum/

Gaslighting of Autistic Women: https://seventhvoice.wordpress.com/2014/12/10/the-gas-lighting-of-women-and-girls-on-the-autism-spectrum/

Sleep + Autism: http://neurowonderful.tumblr.com/post/151392069416/sleep-patterns-in-autistic-individuals

10 Ways I Can Spot an Aspie Girl: https://everydayaspergers.com/2014/05/05/10-ways-i-can-spot-and-aspie-girl/

Why Autism in Women is Misdiagnosed: http://www.theatlantic.com/health/archive/2015/10/the-invisible-women-with-autism/410806/?utm_source=SFFB

The Lost Girls: https://spectrumnews.org/features/deep-dive/the-lost-girls/

Missing Diagnosis in Women: https://taniaannmarshall.wordpress.com/2013/03/15/asperger-syndrome-in-girls-and-women-keeping-up-appearances-and-missed-diagnosis/9 Things About Aspergers: https://www.buzzfeed.com/mairelliott/being-alone-is-different-to-being-lonely?utm_term=.bgq9RvXKx#.xeMPn8XWr

Flying Under the Radar: https://taniaannmarshall.wordpress.com/2013/03/09/flying-under-the-radar-girls-and-women-with-aspergers-syndrome/

What an Autism Meltdown Feels Like: https://themighty.com/2015/04/what-an-autism-meltdown-feels-like/

Meltdowns: http://www.adultaspergerschat.com/2012/09/meltdowns-in-adults-with-aspergers-high.html

Underdiagnosis of Autism in Women: https://www.psychologytoday.com/blog/aspergers-diary/201008/its-different-girls

Chaos & Volume: My Autistic Ears: http://the-orbit.net/scrappy/2016/09/06/chaos-volume-autistic-ears/

Autistic Girls, Vulnerability, & Sexuality: http://autisticatedalmayne.com/autism/autistic-girls-sexuality-and-vulnerability/

Intersection of Autism and OCD: https://musingsofanaspie.com/2014/09/04/at-the-intersection-of-autism-and-ocd/

Study on Allistic People Misinterpreting Autistic People: https://kclpure.kcl.ac.uk/portal/files/55026975/Interaction_Takes_Two_JAP_Full.pdf

Women Telling their Autism Stories: https://www.autismspeaks.org/blog/2015/09/17/watch-women-diagnosed-autism-late-tell-their-stories

On Executive Dysfunction: http://earthmoonlotus.tumblr.com/post/137533223850/about-executive-dysfunction-for-neurotypical

Immune Function & ASD: https://www.autism.com/symptoms_immune

Functioning Labels

What’s Wrong With Functioning Labels Masterpost: https://medium.com/@autisticliving/whats-wrong-with-functioning-labels-a-masterpost-2978b84f2878

On Functioning Labels: http://yesthattoo.blogspot.com/2013/08/meet-two-people.html

You Don’t Speak For “Low Functioning” Autistics: http://lysikan.tumblr.com/post/106147681470/you-dont-speak-for-low-functioning-autistics

Functioning Labels 101: https://feministaspie.wordpress.com/2015/03/13/functioning-labels-101-whats-the-big-deal/

Not Autistic Enough: http://www.judyendow.com/advocacy/the-pseudo-logic-of-not-autistic-enough/

More Problems With Functioning Labels: https://ollibean.com/problems-functioning-labels/

 

Autism Screening

RDOS Aspie Quiz: http://www.rdos.net/eng/Aspie-quiz.php

Rivto Autism Diagnostic Scale: http://www.aspietests.org/raads/

 

Life Aides & Stim Resources

Weighted blanket: https://magicweightedblanket.com/collections/chenille/products/sage-green-chenille?variant=2522862531

Stim Toys: http://www.stimtastic.co/

Stim images & videos: http://sillystimming.tumblr.com/

$5 and Under Stim Toys: https://slimeworks.tumblr.com/post/160651424840/5-and-under-stim-toys

 

Books To Buy

NeuroTribes: http://stevesilberman.com/book/neurotribes/

Skip to toolbar